Seventeen.

17269625_120300002533812056_1877176592_o

Happy birthday to the most awkward 17 year old, me! Yes, celebrated my 17th last 9th of March.  It was a bittersweet celebration for me, truly, this is one of the most memorable birthday I’ve had.

In celebrating another year, I’ve spent most of the nights before my actual birthday in contemplating on what the past year has taught me, and I realized a lot of things. Here are the 17 things I’ve learned at 17.

One: You dictate your move.
You have to think first before doing something, may it be towards other people or just you, but everything you do reflects to who you really are. You have to think first before doing something that you might not take back.

Two: It’s okay to not be okay.
We are just human beings with emotions that we may or may not control, and sometimes we tend to force ourselves to feel or act okay even though we are not, just because we don’t want other people to think that we are weak. But as time pass by, I learned that it is okay not to be okay, it is okay not to be happy sometimes.

Three: Ready, fire and then aim.
Sometimes, preparing so much is not the answer. We tend to prepare so much for something and then we end up not doing it. Maybe, we just need to do it.

Four: It takes time and hard work to get to the finish line. 
You need to be patient, you need to work hard to climb and get on top. You just don’t wake up and then there you’re in the finish line, you have to run a long way and you need to be tough.

Five: Dance and shake it off. 
When I am in my worst mood, I just turn on the music and dance it off until my feet hurts.

Six:  Things wont always turn out according to plan or the way you want it to be.
Sometimes, you just need to accept it.

Seven: Learn to appreciate the things you have. 
You just have to appreciate what you have because maybe what you are looking for is right next to you or maybe when you start appreciating what you have, you may actually feel happier.

Eight: Believe in yourself.
I doubt myself so much, that it comes to the point that I don’t trust myself. But eventually, I learned how to believe in myself and in my capabilities in doing things.

Nine: Don’t take people for granted.
You’ll just learn how important someone is when they’re gone.

Ten: Stay strong.
You win some, you lose some. Still, you need to have to keep your chill and a mindset to push through it all. Giving up is not in your options.

Eleven: Some people are meant to not meant to stay. 
As much as we want them to stay, they have to go. People come and go, and sometimes we can’t stop it. Even the person you are closest with may walk out of your life the next day. Be that as it may, they come to our lives to teach us something. And maybe all that we need to do is to thank them for the memories.

Twelve: Love yourself.
At the end of the day, all you have is yourself. Learn to love yourself first before anyone else.

Thirteen: Invest in friendships.
Even though you’re strong, you still need someone to lean on to and someone to talk to at your age besides your family. It will benefit you so much in the long run. Especially for me, I don’t have sibling to get along with, but I have friends who are the siblings I’ve never had.

Fourteen: Family is my strength.
My family is my foundation, they’re there to pick you up when you’re on your lowest points in life. I am nowhere if not because of my family’s love, and support. It took me years to finally appreciate what my family has done for me, especially my parents but now, I don’t actually know how to express my gratitude to them.

Fifteen: People will let you down. 
They will and it’s inevitable. But whatever their opinions are doesn’t matter as long as you’re not doing anything wrong.

Sixteen: Let go and let God. 
You just have to let go and let God do His thing. In some situations we have to keep in mind that it is beyond our control, and we just need to rely on our faith and it can eventually make us feel stronger.

Seventeen: Idk. 
Yes, I don’t know because I am just 17 and I still have a long way to go and a lot of obstacles to surpass and yah, I still have a lot to learn may it be in a good way or in a bad way. But nonetheless, we should cherish every moment before it became a memory or a lesson.

Happy birthday, self!

Leave a Reply

